> ## Documentation Index
> Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://speckle-assistant.mintlify.site/llms.txt
> Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further.

# Migrating Personal Projects to Speckle Workspaces

<Warning>
  **🚨 Critical Reminder:** On **January 1, 2026**, all personal projects in Speckle will be
  permanently deleted. It will not be possible to recover them after that time.

  This refers to any Speckle projects in the "Personal project" section that haven't been
  moved into a workspace, which is now the default.
</Warning>

**What to do to keep your projects:**

1. **Create or join a workspace** - Workspaces are now the default for all new projects.
   Choose the Free plan or contact us to set up a workspace that accommodates all your projects.

2. **Move your personal projects into a workspace** - Before January 1, 2026, migrate your
   personal projects to a workspace to preserve your data. Follow the migration steps below.

3. **Pick a plan** - Choose the Free plan or contact us to set you up with a workspace that
   accommodates all your projects and gives you immediate access to Speckle's key new features.

With the full release of workspace-based collaboration, personal projects in Speckle are now in read-only mode. This guide helps you migrate your existing personal project data to a workspace to continue working collaboratively.

### Why migrate?

⚠️ **Personal projects will be permanently deleted on January 1, 2026** - migrate now to preserve your data.\
✅ Legacy Personal projects are **read-only** - no new data can be sent to them.\
✅ Workspace projects unlock **editing, collaboration, and automation**.\
✅ Next-gen connectors require workspace-based projects.\
✅ Migrating ensures you can continue using Speckle's full capabilities with your existing data.

### Migration steps

<Steps>
  <Step title="Review your personal projects">
    Go to [Speckle](https://app.speckle.systems) and sign in. In the left sidebar,
    click **My Projects** and review the personal projects you want to migrate. It
    ma not eb everything, and this is a good time to decide which projects you
    want to keep working on in a workspace as it will affect the plan selection
    that suits your needs best.
  </Step>

  <Step title="Create a workspace">
    If you haven't already created a workspace, in the top-right menu, click your
    profile and select **Workspaces**. Click **Create Workspace** and set up your
    workspace name, description, and invite team members.
  </Step>

  <Step title="Move projects into your workspace">
    **From the workspace page.**

    You can select **Add Project** to create a new project or move an existing one. You will be presented with a full list of all your personal projects.

    **From the personal project page.**

    For each project, click the **Move** button and you will be presented with a list of any workspaces you are the admin of.
  </Step>

  <Step title="Move your data">
    Moving your project models does not upgrade it from legacy to Next-Gen data structures. You will need to use the next-gen connector to send your data to your new workspace project.
  </Step>

  <Step title="Validate and start collaborating">
    Open your new project in the Speckle web interface to confirm all data
    transferred successfully. Invite collaborators as needed. Use next-gen
    connectors to keep your workspace project up to date.
  </Step>
</Steps>

### Project migration questions

<AccordionGroup>
  <Accordion title="🚨 Critical: Personal Projects Will Be Deleted on January 1, 2026">
    <Warning>
      **All personal projects in Speckle will be permanently deleted on January 1, 2026.**
      It will not be possible to recover them after that time. This refers to any Speckle
      projects in the "Personal project" section that haven't been moved into a workspace.
    </Warning>

    **What to do to keep your projects:**

    1. **Create or join a workspace** - Workspaces are now the default for all new projects.
       Choose the Free plan or contact us to set up a workspace that accommodates all your projects.

    2. **Move your personal projects into a workspace** - Before January 1, 2026, migrate your
       personal projects to a workspace to preserve your data. See the [migration guide](/migration/personal-projects)
       for detailed steps.

    3. **Pick a plan** - Choose the Free plan or contact us to set you up with a workspace that
       accommodates all your projects and gives you immediate access to Speckle's key new features.

    Don't wait - migrate your personal projects now to avoid permanent data loss.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="In the project page, the Move button is disabled. Why?">
    The **Move** button is disabled if you are not the project owner. Only the
    project owner can initiate the move to a workspace. If you need to migrate a
    personal project, contact the project owner to perform the migration.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="What happens to my collaborators when I migrate?">
    If you have collaborators on a personal project, they will still have access
    to the project in read-only mode. However, they will not be able to send new
    data to the personal project. You can change their role to **Editor** in the
    migrated project. Depending on the workspace plan they will affect your
    billing.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="I can't move my project because my workspace is at its limit.">
    If your workspace has reached its project limit or model limit, you can
    either: - Upgrade your workspace plan to increase the project limit. - Add
    the Unlimited Project and Models add-on to your workspace plan.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="Will my personal projects disappear?">
    <Warning>
      **Critical:** All personal projects will be permanently deleted on **January 1, 2026**.
      It will not be possible to recover them after that date. You must migrate your
      personal projects to a workspace before this deadline to preserve your data.
    </Warning>

    Until January 1, 2026, personal projects remain in read-only mode for your reference
    and download. After the deletion date, they will be permanently removed and cannot
    be recovered.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="Can I automate this migration?">
    Currently, no; personal projects and workspace projects use different
    permissions for collaborators. Migration is a manual process.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="What if I have a lot of personal projects?">
    If you have many personal projects, consider prioritizing the most important
    ones for migration. You can also use the search functionality in the project
    page to quickly find and move specific projects. There is no bulk migration
    feature at this time, so each project must be moved individually.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="Can I still access my personal projects if I don't migrate?">
    <Warning>
      **Critical:** All personal projects will be permanently deleted on **January 1, 2026**.
      You must migrate them to a workspace before this deadline.
    </Warning>

    Until January 1, 2026, you can still access your personal projects in read-only mode.
    They will remain available for reference and download, but you cannot send new data
    to them. After the deletion date, they will be permanently removed and cannot be
    recovered.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="Where is the `main` model?">
    The `main` model was the default model in the v2 connectors. There is no longer an enforced convention for the `main` model.
  </Accordion>

  <Accordion title="I can't make a `main` model in the web application.">
    The `main` model was the default model in the v2 connectors. There is no longer an enforced convention for the `main` model, but for backward compatibility it is a reserved model name.
  </Accordion>
</AccordionGroup>
